gentrifiedonthetrail

Wow!

So- three days ago, in Hampton, Tn, I last updated. I was not ‘feeling’ the trail, I was feeling like the trail was spitting me out! And it did. Three days later, 20 miles outside of Damascus, I was determined to quit. My body was fine, but my mind did not want to make a single step more on this dumb ass trail. And another hill to climb, I was done done done with hills. So I called a ride (for once I had great service in the ridge line), they picked me up. I drank a coke, had dinner, and all the sudden it was not so bad.

I have changed some gear, lightened my load to 23 lbs – WITH 3 days food. Bought a new smaller backpack, and spent a day sitting with my feet up. 24 hours makes a huge difference! Although tempted to flee the trail as fast as possible, I knew I’d regret it. Probably the first time I have had these thoughts. But it wont be the last. Let us see how far my mind can take my body!!!

20120525-180407.jpg

This entry was published on May 25, 2012 at 5:04 pm. It’s filed under hiking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Wow!

  1. Joel "Patton/Belcher" on said:

    Keep up the faith!! Enjoy Virginia and look to the north.

  2. Judy graham on said:

    Hooray for new backpacks, lighter loads and rest!! You can do this, Gentry!!

  3. Hang in there Stump Bear! McAfee Knob, Dragons Tooth, Dismal Falls are right around the corner and they are awe-inspiring stops! Listen to the church bells playing hymns down in Pearisburg from atop Angels Rest. Motivation sometimes comes from the most unlikely situations…You can do this!
    Spanky

  4. Kari on said:

    Listen to your body and rest when you need to. Keep checking your FB – I’ll be posting lots of MOtivation for you 😉

  5. Natalie on said:

    I REALLY like this picture. It reminds me A LOT of some I took of Lake Garda in Italy. I’ll have to send some to you so you can agree. LOL. Proud of you.

Leave a Reply

