gentrifiedonthetrail

Advice

Let’s talk about helpful advice.
The first good piece of trail advice I received was:
You can quit all you want, just don’t stop hiking.

Then one day I really really wanted to quit. A good friend told me:
ok, but you’ll remember that hill the rest of your life.
I took it to mean that the hill better be worth quitting. And it just wasn’t.
after this, I started asking people for advice, or their one thought that keeps them motivated. It’s time to share these gems!

Don’t trust any decision you’ve made going uphill.
Dont quit in a town.
Don’t quit on a rainy day.
Don’t quit until you’ve had a hot shower, and a warm meal.
Your mind will quite before your feet will.

These are words of wisdom that get me further down the trail. Add your own! Leave a comment with your advice for me.

20120625-063342.jpg

This entry was published on June 25, 2012 at 5:33 am. It’s filed under hiking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

7 thoughts on “Advice

  1. Kari on said:

    AMEN SISTER! I swear, I will bring you back myself if you think you are quitting before you get to the end šŸ˜‰

  2. I love this post. It will be something you will remember all your life too. All my love and support,
    Mom

  3. “On the plains of hesitation bleach the bones of countless millions who at the dawn of victory, sat down to rest and resting, died.”…oooh, that’s a little heavy…anyway, just keep on walkin’ Gentry!

  4. margaret burk on said:

    These are unpolished pearls….
    You can always do more than you think you can.
    Pain is temporary. You will live with the outcome of your efforts much longer.
    All that to say I’ll be happy to see you when you come back and am already proud as punch of you!

  5. Adrrienne King on said:

    From Loree Cameron’s grandson, who did AT last year: “If one quits, they will never go back. Take a break in the Shenendoah Valley and canoe about 35 miles of the trail. A real change of pace. Get rid of the weight. Bret had no tent, no sleeping bag, merely a tarp and a light fleece jacket. Through Pennsylvania and New York, he thought it was really neat to be so close to civilization. Probably about 20 times he went off trail with locals to their homes to eat, sleep, shower and use their washing machines. The locals are great.”

  6. cyndy-lou-hoo on said:

    “Just keep Swimming!” ~Nemo (I’ll leave the profound to the poets!)

  7. Gentry, I was looking at this post just after I’d been in the gym where Frank and I go, and noticed signs on the walls there, meant to encourage folks like me who need a push to stay with an exercise program. It isn’t specifically AT advice, but these made me think of your phenomenal hiking journey anyway. Here’s their list: Conquer your Goals; Experience Life; You have what it takes; Push your limits; Change your life; Believe in yourself. Applicable to hiking the AT, going to the gym, or just living life in general šŸ™‚ Thanks for your posts…I always enjoy reading them and seeing pix of your adventures. And what adventures you are having!! Stay safe!!

Leave a Reply

